Tom Addyman, an archaeologist who worked on repairing and restoring of Dalkeith’s historic Tolbooth, is to present his findings at a public event in the town.
From 9.30am-noon at the County Hotel on June 13, locals will be given the chance to discover more about the history of the building.
It is thought that it dates from the early 1700’s and contained the town’s courtroom and holding cell on the upper floor and on the ground floor was a weigh-house, prison cell and an underground dungeon.
The building was later used by the Dalkeith Scientific Association as their lecture hall from 1835 to 1929.
Currently it is owned by St Mary’s Episcopal Church and the tenant is the charity MYPAS.