Annual honours for Loanhead boys

The 1st Loanhead Boys’ Brigade held its annual display and presentation of awards at Loanhead Parish Church recently.

The chief guest was Paul Thomson from the 51st Bonnyrigg Boys’ Brigade.

All three sections participated in items including games, figure marching, first aid and a presentation on the recent Project Stedfast trip to Kenya.

After this the awards were presented by Elizabeth Thomson, who was later presented with a bouquet of flowers from the Company.

Mr Thomson presented the President’s Award to Callum Deans and Fraser Pearson, and the Queen’s Award to Lewis Shillinglaw.

The Company then made a special presentation to David Ralston and Nicola Ralston, who are stepping down from their roles in the Anchor Boys and Junior Section respectively. They were thanked for their many years service to the Boys’ Brigade in Loanhead.

The full awards are as follows: Anchor Boys - Green & Red Badges, Ryan Yorkston, Laclan Beattie, Ewan Murray, Lewis Finlayson & Ioan Jones; Red & Blue Badges, Jude Anderson, Danny Mackay, Sam Mapstone & Rylan McGuire;

Promotion Certificates, Ryan Yorkston, Danny McKay, Jude Anderson, Sam Mapstone, Rylan McGuire & Ewan Murray.

Junior Section - Target & Bronze Badges, Paul Alexander, Charlie Archibald, Kyle Black, Owen Miller, Finlay Morgan, Lewis Ralston, Michael Rooney & Arran Wilson; Silver Badge, Ben Chazan, Issac Haston, Archie Ralph, Emiliano Rana, Ethan Stirling & Max Wylie; Gold Badge, Kyle Anderson, Liam Davidson, Connor Finlayson, Adam Montgomery & John Sturgeon; Perfect Attendance, Emiliano Rana; Promotion Certificates, Kyle Anderson, Liam Davidson, Connor Finlayson, Adam Montgomery & John Sturgeon; Best Group, Connor Finlayson, Emiliano Rana, Archie Ralph, Finlay Morgan & Paul Alexander; Captain’s Trophy for Bible Reading, Archie Ralph; The Beatrice Ralston Trophy for Best Uniform, Kyle Anderson; The Robert Thompson Memorial Trophy for Top Boy, John Sturgeon.

Company Section - Perfect Attendance, Callum Deans; Four Year Service Award, Callum Deans & Fraser Pearson; The Morrison Cup (Drill), Blair Stuart; The Robert Thompson Memorial Cup (Bible Knowledge), Ewan Bell; The Bobby Buchan Memorial Trophy (Best Uniform), Callum Deans; The Ambulance Trophy (First Aid), Fraser Pearson; The Captains Trophy (General Endeavour), Lewis Shillinglaw; The George Haddow Memorial Trophy (PE), Lewis Shillinglaw; The James C. Ralston Quiz Trophy, Lewis Shillinglaw; The Inveravon Trophy (Indoor Team Event), Lewis Shillinglaw, Callum Deans & Nathan Denholm; The Company Cup (Best Squad), Lewis Shillinglaw, Callum Deans & Nathan Denholm; The Dunedin Trophy (Champion of Champions), Lewis Shillinglaw.

Promotions: Warrant Officer, Gary Caw, Daniel Cherrie, Daniel McHale, Callum Pearson, Jamie Ralston & Shaun Ralston; Staff Sergeant, Lewis Shillinglaw; Sergeant, Gavin Davidson & Blair Stuart; Corporal, Callum Deans & Fraser Pearson; Lance Corporal, Ewan Bell & Nathan Denholm.

Sports Trophies: Badminton Singles, Lewis Shillinglaw; Badminton Doubles, Lewis Shillinglaw & Gavin Davidson; 10-pin Bowling (Boys), Lewis Shillinglaw; 10-pin Bowling (Staff), Rory Grundison; Table Tennis Singles, Lewis Shillinglaw; Table Tennis Doubles, Gavin Davidson & Nathan Denholm; Snooker, Lewis Shillinglaw; Pool, Gavin Davidson; Mini Carpet Bowls, Lewis Shillinglaw; Mini Carpet Skittles, Ewan Bell; Dominoes, Gavin Davidson; Chess, Lewis Shillinglaw; Draughts, Callum Deans; Archery, Blair Stuart.

Mr Thomson presented the following awards - President’s Award, Callum Deans & Fraser Pearson; and Queen’s Award, Lewis Shillinglaw.