Labour wins Midlothian East by-election

Midlothian East by election.  Dalkeith Arts Centre, polling station.
Midlothian East by election. Dalkeith Arts Centre, polling station.

Labour candidate Kenny Young has won the Midlothian East by-election.

He replaces Peter Boyes (Ind) who stepped down in August due to health reasons. Mr Boyes’ successor was announced today’s count at Mayfield Leisure Centre following yesterday’s vote.

The new councillor saw off fellow candidates Robert Hogg (Ind), Colin Cassidy (SNP), Bill Kerr-Smith (Greens), Euan Davidson (Lib Dem) and Andrew Hardie (Con).

He will join sitting councillors Lisa Beattie (SNP) and Peter De Vink (Ind) in representing the large Midlothian East ward, which takes in communities including Dalkeith, Easthouses, Mayfield, Fala, Eskbank, Pathhead and Cousland.

This result leaves SNP-led Midlothian Council with eight SNP councillors, eight Labour councillors, one independent councillor and one Green councillor. The SNP currently has a coalition with independent councillor Peter De Vink, giving them a majority of one.

Full result of Midlothian East by-election - 1st Kenny Young 1,682 votes, 2nd Colin Cassidy 1,613 votes, 3rd Robert Hogg 914, 4th Andrew Hardie (Con) 359 votes, 5th Bill Kerr-Smith (Green) 208 votes, 6th Euan Davidson (Lib Dem) 68 votes.

How the voting unfolded

For the full by-election coverage pick up a copy of the Midlothian Advertiser on Wednesday.