Midlothian East By-election candidates

Five candidates are to stand in the Ward 5 Midlothian East local council by-election on Thursday, March 25.

Friday, 26th February 2021, 2:34 pm
Stock Picture Michael Gillen.

The by-election follows the resignation of Councillor Kenneth Baird from Midlothian Council.

The five candidates are:Margaret Louise Davis – Scottish Liberal Democrats; Hazel Flanagan – Scottish Labour Party; Joy Hannah Godfrey – Scottish Green Party; Stuart McKenzie – Scottish National Party (SNP); Alan Symon – Scottish Conservative and Unionist.

Returning Officer Grace Vickers said: “We’re reminding constituents measures will be in place to keep voters and staff as safe as possible at polling stations and the count.

“You can find further details on our FAQs page at www.midlothian.gov.uk/by-election.”