Local elections live: Midlothian

editorial image

Keep up to speed with all the results and comment as we get it at the Midlothian Council election count at Lasswade centre.

Tension is in the air here at the count, with the first results now expected between 12 and 1pm.

Midlothian Council elections count at Lasswade Centre.

Midlothian Council elections count at Lasswade Centre.

Midlothian South result - The three councillors elected are Jim Muirhead (Lab), Catherine Johnstone (SNP)and Keiran Munro (Con). Bryan Pottinger (Lab) loses his seat with the Conservatives gaining their first ever councillor in Midlothian South.

Penicuik result - The three councillors elected are Andrew Hardie (Con), Adam Montgomery (Lab) and Debbi McCall (SNP). Big shock here as Provost Joe Wallace (SNP) loses his seat.

New councillor Andrew Hardie (Con) tells the Advertiser of his delight at being elected as the first Conservative councillor for Penicuik in 25 years stating: “It’s clear that the people of Penicuik and across Midlothian have voted for change.”

Bonnyrigg result - Elected - Derek Milligan (Lab), Janet Lay-Douglas (Con) and Diane Alexander (SNP). As with the other two wards declared so far, Bonnyrigg has elected one councillor each from the SNP, Labour and Conservatives.

Midlothian West result - Elected - Pauline Winchester (Con), Kelly Parry (SNP) and Russell Imrie (Lab). Russell Imrie bemoans how the snap General Election has turned this local election into a national election and urged all councillors elected for Midlothian to work together to the benefit of local people.

Midlothian East result - Elected - Peter Smaill (Con), John Hackett (Lab) and Kenneth-James Baird (SNP).

It’s still all square as we wait on the final result from Dalkeith - five each for SNP, Labour and Conservatives.

Dalkeith result - Elected - Colin Cassidy (SNP), Stephen Curran (Lab) and Margot Russell (Lab).

So the Dalkeith vote swings it for Labour.

However, with no party achieving the magic majority mark of ten, there are no outright leading party in Midlothian. With negotiations now expected between the parties between the parties over the coming days.

Final results

Labour - seven councillors

SNP - six councillors

Conservatives - five councillors

Labour group leader Derek Milligan tells the Advertiser that his party could have won overall power if not for “national politics”.

With regards to who will form a coalition to lead Midlothian Council he said: “I think the people of Midlothian have spoken loud and clear. There is now three clear parties and it is up to us to all work together.

“We will discuss what we will do, we genuinely believe all the political parties have to put their political differences aside and start fighting for the people of Midlothian, on issues that are important locally such as the lack of doctors and infrastructure in the county, that’s what matters.”

While Midlothian MP and former Midlothian Council leader Owen Thompson (SNP) said: “We will need to take a bit of time to analyse the result. Overall we are down a couple of seats.

“We will continue to work on local issues, everyone knows that’s what we stand for, it’s now a case of seeing what the other’s stand for.”