Proposed changes to Midlothian polling stations

editorial image

Midlothian Council is seeking people’s views on the places it intends to use for the purposes of hosting polling stations in future elections, starting with the European elections in May 2014.

Kenneth Lawrie, chief executive and Returning Officer, said: “We want as many people as possible to vote and providing places which are convenient and easy to get to is an important aspect of encouraging people to use their vote.

“We want to get this right so if you have views on the places we’re currently or proposing to use as polling places, please do get in touch.”

Specifically, the council is having to make substantial changes to the polling arrangements for Electoral ward No 2 - Bonnyrigg Ward.

It wants to hear responses to the proposals which mean that electors that previously were allocated to St Mary’s RC Primary School or Hawthornden Primary School or Bonnyrigg Leisure will now be accommodated in Lasswade High Centre or Lasswade Primary School depending on their address.

In addition, some electors who previously voted at Bonnyrigg Primary School will now be accommodated in Burnbrae Primary School.

The voting arrangements for Lasswade Pavilion are unchanged.

Email your views to