Spring in step

editorial image

IT’S spring – and that’s official.

Penicuik Horticultural Society banished the winter blues when it staged its recent Spring and Craft Show in Ladywood Leisure Centre.

New president Kathryn Pitts presided over the well-attended afternoon event.

Organisers said: “A good entry of jams, jellies, scones, gingerbread and apple tarts gave the judges a hard task to find first.

“The children’s area had many entries and the Rainbows/Beavers, with their Panda Picnics, brought many a smile to visitors’ faces. The Girl Guides were ingenious in their interpretation on the theme of ‘A Summer Picnic’. Individual children brought many exciting articles, into which they had put lots of effort. Schools and nurseries were able to grow pots of daffodils, thanks to Pentland Plants for the donation of pots.

“The floral artists produced terrific displays. Penicuik and area are not short of people who can produce wonderful craft and this was evident on this interesting day.”

Trophy Winners

Seniors Quaich for best exhibit (senior citizen) - Janette Wight.

Mrs Baird Cup for best exhibit (senior citizen) in knitting/crochet and needlecraft - Janette Wight.

Eastfield Cup for most points in knitting/crochet, needlecraft and craft - Ann Sturgeon.

Mary Whitefield Trophy for best exhibit in needlecraft - Elizabeth McKay.

Rose Bowl for best exhibit in craft - Mrs Isobel Ritchie.

President’s Cup for most points in preserves - Elizabeth McKay.

J. Lambie Plaque for best exhibit in baking, WRI, composite entry - Pentlands WRI.

WRI Cup - Roslin WRI.

May Bain Trophy to winning team in composite entry - Elizabeth McKay.

Palmer Quaich for most points in school bulbs - Strathesk Primary School.

Marwick Shield for Girl Guide patrols - 1st Penicuik Guides, Caterpillar patrol.

Junior Trophy for best entry in juniors - Michael Rynn.

Mrs M. Smith Trophy for best exhibit in floral art - Irene Young.

Spring Trophy for most points in floral art - Angela Stewart.

W.G. Gall shield for best exhibit in hyacinths - Carolyn King.

Wilson Trophy for most points in sections M, N, P, R & S - Eilidh Liddle.

Seafield Cup for best exhibit in sections N, P & R - Eilidh Liddle.

Henry Tod Trophy for most points in pot plants - Elizabeth Leary.

Special Award for best exhibit in pot plants - Anne Alexander.

Special Award for best exhibit in daffodils - John Irvine.

Group entry by Rainbows/Beavers - new shield presented by Ann Sturgeon to Tuesday night Beavers.