Top tourism award for historic Midlothian chapel

Rosslyn Chapel Trust director Ian Gardner with Cathy Craig (ScotRail) and Fred Macaulay (right)
Rosslyn Chapel Trust director Ian Gardner with Cathy Craig (ScotRail) and Fred Macaulay (right)

Attractions in the Lothians have plenty of cause to celebrate after the region bagged a number of top tourism awards.

Rosslyn Chapel was among the winners at the national final of the Scottish Thistle Awards. Other Lothians winners included Foxlake Adventures in Dunbar and the Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh.

The awards celebrate tourism businesses or suppliers who have gone the extra mile to offer an outstanding visitor experience.

Ian Gardner, director of the Rosslyn Chapel Trust, winner in the ScotRail Best Visitor Attraction, said: “It is fantastic news that we have won the national final in the ‘best visitor attraction’ category of the prestigious Scottish Thistle Awards.

“Since completing the major conservation project at Rosslyn Chapel, our focus has been to keep enhancing the experience for our visitors, who come from all over the world.

“Winning this award is great recognition for all members of our team who work hard to ensure that coming to Rosslyn Chapel is one of the best visitor experiences in Scotland.”

Held at the Edinburgh International Conference Centre, the national finals of the Scottish Thistle Awards revealed a total of 13 winners across a range of categories during a glittering evening ceremony hosted by comedian Fred MacAulay.

The Scottish Thistle Awards, now in their 28th year, are led by a panel of industry experts.

Stephen Carter OBE, chairman of the Scottish Thistle Awards Industry Panel, said: “Tourism is at the heartbeat of the Scottish economy, and all those nominated are industry leading ambassadors, positioning Scotland as the perfect place to visit and do business.

“The Scottish Thistle Awards are all about celebrating innovation, highlighting excellence and sharing best practice.”

Nominations and entries are now open for the Scottish Thistle Awards 2016-2017. For more information go