Who’s after your vote in Midlothian?

More than 40 candidates will be contesting 18 seats on Midlothian Council at next month’s election.

Voters go to the polls for the first local authority election in five years. Three councillors will represent each of the six wards.

Twelve of the candidates will be seeking re-election and two will be looking to return to local politics after a gap of a number of years.

The most keenly-contested ward will be Midlothian West where voters will have nine candidates to choose from. Candidates seeking your vote are:

Penicuik - Gary Bell (Green), Sandy Forrest (Con), Adam Montgomery (Lab), Derek Rosie (SNP), Sheila Thacker (Lib Dem), Joe Wallace (SNP).

Bonnyrigg - Jack Aitchison (Ind), Ian Baxter (Green), Bob Constable (SNP), Emma Cummings (Con), Derek Milligan (Lab), Louie Milliken (Lab), Thomas Munro (SNP).

Dalkeith - Alex Bennett (Lab), George Boyd (Lib Dem), Jim Bryant (SNP), Colin Cassidy (SNP), Willie Duncan (Scottish Anti-Cuts Coalition), Margot Russell (Lab), Robin Traquair (Con).

Midlothian West - Helen Blackburn (Green), Andrew Coventry (SNP), Andrew Hardie (Con), Russell Imrie (Lab), Alex Jones (Lab), Lynn Leitch (SACC), George McCleery (Ind), Les Thacker (Lib Dem), Owen Thompson (SNP).

Midlothian East - Lisa Beattie (SNP), Paul Bertram (SNP), Peter Boyes (Lab), Peter de Vink (Ind), Bob Goupillot (SACC), Katie Moffat (Lab), Richard Thomson (Con).

Midlothian South - Dougie Crawford (SNP), Cath Johnstone (SNP), Jim Muirhead (Lab), Bryan Pottinger (Lab), Peter Smaill (Con.)

Voting will take place on Thursday, May 3, between 7am and 10pm.