Rose head into the semi-finals after a convincing display

Bonnyrigg's Alan Horne score the Rose's first goal
Bonnyrigg's Alan Horne score the Rose's first goal

Bonnyrigg progressed to 
the semi-final stage of the 
Scottish Junior Cup 
semi-finals with a solid win over Kirkintilloch Rob Roy.

The Rose made a positive start and they were rewarded with a deserved 10th minute opening goal to set them on their way.

Not before a glancing header from the Roy’s pivot David Barr went only just wide in the fourth minute.

Pressure on the visiting keeper Michael McKinven saw him firstly punch out a Jon Brown free kick but in subsequent play he was forced into a similar punch out but this time only as far as Alan Horne whose half-volley hit the Roy’s net for the Rose opener and Alan’s first goal in a long time.

Appeals for a Rose penalty in the 17th minute when Keiran McGachie was felled were ignored by stand in referee Peter Stewart who had to explain his decision to Rose boss Robbie Horn.

A rare visitors’ free kick in 20 minutes swept in by Lee Gallagher was well taken by Mike Andrews.

Bonnyrigg looked the more likely to add to their tally with Scott Walker making a goalline clearance for the visitors in 32 minutes to deny a Euan Moyes netbound header.

Dean Hoskins slipped next while taking a free kick that went wide but just five minutes before half time and Bonnyrigg went 2-0 up when a cross from Jon Brown was headed home by Wayne McIntosh.

The second half got underway with Kirkintilloch seizing the initiative as Rose eased back but the visitors lacked a finish on the day.

Wayne McIntosh rattled a shot off the visitors’ crossbar in 62 minutes as Bonnyrigg sought to get final closure.

In 65 minutes a mispass by Barr set up McGachie to finish it off but the Rabs keeper denied him with an outstretched leg block.

Kirkintilloch’s Gary McMenamen was sent off in 74 minutes for a second yellow.

Bonnyrigg saw out the proceedings with a comfortable win in the end.

Rose: Andrews, Brown, Hoskins, Young, Moyes, Stewart, McIntosh, Horne, McGachie, Nelson, Donaldson. Subs: Kidd, Turner, Gray, Archibald,